The Best Time To Fix A Leak is NOW!

listenup

I consider myself very blessed to have as many friends as I have. Because I have a lot of friends, I know people on both ends of the financial spectrum. I know people who are doing well financially, or so it seems, and I know people who are struggling financially. For people on both ends of the spectrum… LISTEN UP!

No one would’ve guessed how poor my financial situation was 21 months ago, not even my best friends or family. I had over $200,000 in student loan and credit card debt. I was living less than paycheck to paycheck because by the time I paid my student loan payments I was having to put necessities like food and gas on credit cards, which soon led to hitting the maximum balance on each of them. So I was on the struggling side of the financial spectrum.

There are many people that are in similar situations and then there are those that are nowhere close to it; however, the ones that are nowhere close to it and can be there in a flash. I’ll give you a few real life examples in a moment. You never know what the future holds for you and your family. So the best time to prepare for it was yesterday. The next best time is now. There’s a phrase that I heard my friend Jon Butler say that made a lot of sense to me. He said, “the best time to fix a leaky roof is before it starts raining. If you try to fix it while it’s raining, it’s nearly impossible.”

“The best time to fix a leaky roof is before it starts raining. If you try to fix it while it’s raining, it’s nearly impossible.”

Here are some real life examples of fixing the leaks of the metaphorical roof before it rains:

1. I have a friend that was doing well for himself. He didn’t have much debt, had a nice job, had a good bit of savings, and  decided he just wanted to earn a little extra income on the side as a “Plan B.” So he began to build an AdvoCare business in January as an extra source of income. He very quickly began to earn about $2,000 a month. In mid April, the company that he worked for eliminated numerous positions and his was one of them. Being out of a job, he would’ve burned through his savings quickly, but because he decided to fix the leaks before it rained, he didn’t stress the elimination of his position.

That reminds me of the unforeseeable 18,000+ layoff that Microsoft announced in July. I bet that wasn’t in those employees future plans. I hope they didn’t sign a contract for a house or big purchase based on their salaries.

“As long as you are an employee, you are at the mercy of your employer to provide for your family.”

There’s a phrase I heard a friend say that gave me a sick feeling of disgust in my stomach because of how true it is. He  told me, “As long as you are an employee, you are at the mercy of your employer to provide for your family.” That’s not something I want to live with… EVER! Your employer can pull the plug and flip the switch on your income stream in a matter of seconds. How comfortable does that make you feel? For me, not comfortable at all. It actually makes me sick to think about being at the mercy of someone else.

2. I have two other friends that are very dear to me that were in a similar situation financially except they altered their situation right before I spoke with them about earning extra income. My friends Jason and Rachel Robinson had no clue what was about to happen to them a year down the road. Rachel had just left her job and was looking for something to do to earn extra income while she looked for a new job. She quickly stopped looking for that new job after they began building their AdvoCare business. It only took a couple months to replace what Rachel was making at her old job, which allowed her to be a full-time mom to their three children. They didn’t realize how big of a blessing that was until several months down the road when they found out that their youngest son was diagnosed with autism, which required their constant attention. They are also incurring a lot of extra costs to provide for the extra training and schooling he requires. They fixed the leaks before it rained/poured.

10150605_620255951270_1462494585258416865_n3. Many of you now know my situation; however, no one foresaw, not even I, what my future held. I have said this before in a blog post and I said it again in front of over 300 people: “What woman would want to marry the man I was that couldn’t even take care of himself, much less someone else?” That gave me a level of disgust and drove me to fix my situation. A year after turning things around, God surprised me. He introduced me to Mariah. If anyone would’ve told me a year ago that I’d be married in May, I would’ve thought they were crazy. I didn’t foresee being married in May 2014. I would’ve thought they were even crazier if they told me I’d be having my first child in March 2015, but I guess being married and completely open to the blessing of a child that could’ve been expected. Weddings and children are accompanied with huge blessings. Unfortunately, they are also accompanied with huge costs.

The good news for us is, we didn’t have to hold off on getting married to save up for our wedding and we also are not stressing the extra costs that a child is going to bring because of a decision I made 21 months ago. That decision allowed for us to pay for our wedding in cash. That’s right… CASH. We didn’t go into further debt to get married like many couples do. We are also not stressing the financial changes a child is going to bring. We cannot wait for our little blessing to get here! We cannot thank our friends enough for introducing AdvoCare into our lives. Thanks to AdvoCare, Mariah doesn’t have to get a job and both of us have the opportunity to be full time parents when our child is born.

“AdvoCare shows up well before the need.”

I’ve heard my friend Danielle Butler say this before and it reigns true, “AdvoCare shows up well before the need.” In our case and in the ones I mentioned above, that couldn’t be more true.

Leave a Reply

