Checkup On Baby #2 Was Anything But Regular – Here’s Our Story…

Baby ultrasound picture 12 weeks
I posted this to Facebook this past week and wanted to post it here as well.

After you read this, please follow the CALL TO ACTION:

Thursday we went to the doctor for my wife’s 12-week baby appointment with Baby Rutter #2. I know I don’t have to go with her, but I do. I went for every appointment when she was pregnant with our first child mainly for one reason, and that reason was brought to light this past week.

We were brought back to the room where the doctor would see her and he saw us almost immediately. As is routine, he checked for the baby’s heartbeat. With Camille he found it almost immediately every time; however, that wasn’t the case at all today. Using the heart monitor, he moved it up and down, left and right, and pressed down hard enough that he had to ask my wife if it hurt her or not. He relocated the device multiple times for several minutes searching for the heartbeat. I knew immediately what my wife was thinking. It was the same thing I was thinking. I closed my eyes, held Camille tightly, and began to pray. I said several Hail Mary’s and prayed that we would hear the heartbeat, but after several long minutes he didn’t find it.

The doctor ordered an ultrasound to make sure that everything was okay. It didn’t take the ultrasound tech long to get in the room we walked to, but Mariah was already covered in her tears. As scared as I was I had to tell my wife that everything was going to be okay. Camille sensed her mom being upset and for the first time since we had walked into the doctor’s office she reached out to her because she wanted to console and be next to her mommy. It’s amazing how at less than a year old she already has those instincts. A million thoughts began running through my head, but I did my best to block them out and focus on praying and comforting my wife.

My wife handed Camille back to me and then laid on the ultrasound table. As the ultrasound tech moved the device around on her, we saw our sweet little baby. All the fingers were there. All the toes. The arms and legs looked perfect as did the head. We waited for what seemed like an eternity for the heartbeat… and then we saw it, and then heard it. It was a huge relief. my wife hadn’t stopped crying and now her tears were of a different origin. They were coming from happiness and gratefulness. We thank God that He has given us a healthy baby. We thank God that He is giving Camille a baby brother or sister to play with. We realize how fortunate we are and in the same token, we realize how many people aren’t.

After posting this on Facebook we had people say, “that’s why you shouldn’t tell people you’re pregnant until well after your first trimester.” We are of another mindset. We told everyone almost immediately upon finding out that my wife was pregnant. It’s a reason to rejoice. Another life is being created and we would want people praying that this child comes into the world healthy. If something went horribly wrong we would want people knowing why we were acting different. We would want people to be praying for us and for the soul of our child. That’s why we tell everyone and why we always will.

So the call to action is to please pray a prayer of thankfulness for those of you who have been blessed with healthy children. Please pray for those who have suffered the loss of a child. Pray for the Lord to comfort them because I can’t imagine the pain they have endured. We just experienced the beginning of what we thought could’ve been a long journey of tears and heartache and that’s something I wouldn’t want anyone to experience. God bless you all who have experienced that.

So that’s why I go with my wife. Because if we ever experience that, I don’t want her to experience it alone.

Leave a Reply

